Sunday, November 21, 2010

Incubus - The Odyssey EP

In 2004, Incubus created four, albeit very similar, songs that are featured on the Halo 2 Soundtrack (Volume 1). The songs are collectively known as "The Odyssey". The original was called "Follow (1st Movement of The Odyssey)". There are also three remixes of the song: 2nd Movement of the Odyssey, 3rd Movement of the Odyssey, and 4th Movement of the Odyssey. As the songs numerical value for "Movement of the Odyssey" goes up, they become more and more dissimilar to the original track as well as longer (with one exception). The track "Follow (1st Movement of the Odyssey)" was the only track to appear in game. It is played during the final few minutes of gameplay in the Halo 2 level The Arbiter.

Saturday, November 13, 2010

Motion City Soundtrack / Limbeck 7" Split

Released 2004 on Vinyl Nerd Records

Limbeck/Motion City Soundtrack 7" Split is a 7" split featuring the bands Limbeck and Motion City Soundtrack. It was released in 2004 by Vinyl Nerd Records. Each band covers one of the other's songs, Motion City Soundtrack doing Limbeck's "The Sun Woke the Whole States" (from Hi, Everything's Great.) and Limbeck doing Motion City Soundtrack's "Perfect Teeth" (from I Am the Movie). Each record is individually numbered up to 1000 with many different color variations.

Track listing
  1. "The Sun Woke the Whole State" (by Motion City Soundtrack) (Limbeck cover)
  2. "Perfect Teeth" (by Limbeck) (Motion City Soundtrack cover)

Saturday, November 6, 2010

Explosions In The Sky - The Rescue (Travels In Constants Vol. 21)

Explosions In The Sky - The Rescue (Travels In Constants Vol. 21)

Released on Temporary Residence Limited
October 11th, 2005

The album was recorded and mixed in just two weeks. The band wrote no new material for this album prior, and then spent eight straight days writing and finishing a song each day. The rest of the two weeks was spent mixing. The album is Volume 21 in the "Travels in Constants" series and was originally only available for purchase via mail order and at the band's shows.

The Rescue was inspired by a time the band was on tour, and its van broke down on the road. The members had to wait eight days (hence each track title) for the transmission to be replaced in the van (as described in dialog during the song "Day Three"), and they went flat broke after the payment. They had to spend those eight days in the attic of someone kind enough to let them stay. They described "Day Eight" as "a goodbye."